The State Treasury consists of sectors and their support activities. The Director General is in charge of the State Treasury. The Director General, heads of State Treasury divisions and a personnel representative form the management group.

Finance Division

The Finance Division is responsible for government borrowing, risk management of central government debt, the State Treasury and government lending. We ensure that the government’s financial services function at a high standard in all conditions.

Government Finance Administration, Information and Working Life Management Division

The Finance Administration, Information and Working Life Management Division produces high-quality services for the development of public finances and working life at the central government and promotes knowledge management. Among other things, we are responsible for the central government’s group accounts and the steering and development of financial administration, payment transactions and procurements at the central government. We compile and publish financial information on municipalities and wellbeing services counties. We support the capacity for renewal, responsibility and sustainable development of central government organisations.

Government grant services

In the government grant services area, we serve those applying for government grants and the government grant authorities granting them. We produce the online services related to the application and processing of grants and are responsible for developing them and providing user support. We also help ministries and authorities channelling EU recovery funding and monitor the use of the funds in the Recovery and Resilience Plan.

Services for Citizens Division

The Services for Citizens Division is responsible for providing many different services related to compensation and accidents. Our customers include disabled war veterans and other citizens, authorities, companies and corporations. We develop our services in an agile manner, listening to our customers.

Support activities

Administration and Development Division

The Administration and Development Division is responsible for the State Treasury’s internal services and joint development. Our duties include the accounting tasks of the State Treasury, such as financial, personnel and general administration at the agency level, document management and secretary services, employer tasks concerning the State Treasury, risk management and the State Treasury’s joint communications.

ICT Management Division

The ICT Management Division is responsible for the State Treasury’s shared ICT services and information security. We are continuously improving the efficiency of our core operations and enabling the benefits of digitalisation for both our internal and external customers. Agility and the secure use of modern technologies are at the core of our operations; this is just one of the reasons we are pioneers of cloud technology in central government.

Internal auditing

Internal auditing is an objective function independent of the rest of the organisation, which supports the management of the State Treasury and its divisions in attaining their goals. Through inspection and consulting services, the function helps to develop the efficiency, expediency and sufficiency of the risk management, internal monitoring and operations of the State Treasury.

Organisation of the State Treasury

Management group

Director General Timo Laitinen Timo Laitinen
Director General since 2008.
With the State Treasury since 2003.
Master of Laws.
Born in 1958.
tel. +358 295 50 2200
Mikko Kangaspunta Mikko Kangaspunta
Financial Director since 2008.
Director of the Administrative Affairs and Development Division from 1 April 2018 onwards.
Director of the Finance and Personnel Division from 2003 onwards.
With the State Treasury since 1992.
M.Sc. (Econ.).
Born in 1964.
tel. +358 295 50 2277
Lasse Skog Lasse Skog
Director of the Finance, Information and Working Life Division from 1 April 2018 onwards.
Development Director since 2017.
Director of the Kieku Division since 2011.
CIO since 2000.
With the State Treasury since 1994.
M.Sc. (Econ.).
Born in 1964.
tel. +358 295 50 2444
Liisa Räsänen Liisa Räsänen
Compensation Director since 2022.
Director of the Services for Citizens Division since 2022.
With the State Treasury since 2022.
M.Pol.Sc., MA (econ.), EMBA.
Born in 1973.
tel. +358 295 50 2101
Teppo Koivisto Teppo Koivisto
Finance Director since 2006.
Director of the Finance Division since 2006.
With the State Treasury since 2006.
Born in 1966.
tel. +358 295 50 2550
Tomi Poikola Tomi Poikola
CIO since 2015.
Deputy Director of Treasury IT since 2010.
With the State Treasury since 2002.
M.Sc. (Econ.).
Born in 1975.
tel. +358 295 50 2908
Mari Näätsaari
Government grants services, unit director since 2021.
With the State Treasury since 2021. Formerly at the State Treasury from 2009 to 2017.
Master of Social Sciences.
Born in 1974.
tel. +358 295 50 2259
Ari Kauhanen Personnel representative
Ari Kauhanen
Project Manager
Secretary of the Management group
Saara Ruotsalainen
With the State Treasury since 2020.
M.Sc. (Econ.).